Action Packed Feature In Smile Magazine

cebu pac cebupac 2

Two months ago, a former officemate emailed and asked if my location was in Tokyo. I said that I was not but I was 28 minutes away from Tokyo station. He then asked if I was interested to write something about Tokyo for Cebu Pacific’s Smile Magazine! In a heartbeat I said “yes!” Thank you Joey Latayada of www.boundfortwo.com (check out his awesome travel blog with his wife, Sky). Thank you for recommending me! He too was featured in the February issue. Cebu Pacific is the Philippines’ largest airline.

When contributing editor, Charmaine Baylon emailed me, I suggested if it was ok to write about Yokohama instead of Tokyo. Aside from the fact that I don’t live in Tokyo (but I am mostly there on most weekends), it is always featured  in most magazines. She was nice enough to agree and was pleased with the idea! I was even more excited when I learned that it was a two page feature because  all the while I though it was just a blurb.

The biggest challenge was taking pictures for the feature! My SD card was corrupted so I didn’t have any good pictures on file! Lesson learned: transfer files right away and don’t rely on a 32 gig SD card. Check my post here where I talked about my biggest challenge! As I was nearing my 1 week deadline, everything just fell into place!

When the issue finally came out, March 1st, I was overwhelmed with the outpouring congratulatory messages from people I knew. They were kind enough to post the issue with sweet comments on their Facebook wall and their Instagram accounts. My heart is filled with glee! I can’t wait to get my hard copy because I was not supposed to have one. After posting it on my FB account, I learned that a HS schoolmate works for the said airline who is currently in the process of sending it to me with a signed message of a VIP of the airline! I have the sweetest friends ever!

Thank you to my luvies: Rexcy and Ashley for accompanying me when I took some of the photos .

My besties: Felma, Rona and Ria for pushing me to believe that I could do it even if I was almost doubting myself.

To my family for being my no.1 cheerleader.

To all of you who shared, liked, and posted comments: You made me so KILIG!

One of the many tagged pictures on Facebook from families, friends, former teachers, classmates and colleagues. Thank you for taking time to post! :)

One of the many tagged pictures on Facebook from families, friends, former teachers, classmates and colleagues. Thank you for taking time to post! 🙂

Thank you Smile Magazine for making my dream come true! cebu pacb 3
You can read the web version here.
Inset photo of me by Ashley Dy.

If you are flying Cebu Pacific this month, the feature is on pages 48 and 51.

2 thoughts on “Action Packed Feature In Smile Magazine

  1. I’m so excited for you C! I feel that this is just the start of something bigger! Next time we see each other, I will be asking you to sign something so that when you become more famous, I can say I already have your autograph! 🙂

Leave a Reply

